April 15, 2014

Logan Media Services

CARTERVILLE – A total of 147 area students from eight different high schools in the John A. Logan College district participated in the annual High School Business Contest last week at the college.
Awards were presented to 45 of those students in the following categories: Accounting I, Accounting II, Business Communications, Business Math, Computer Spreadsheet Design, General Business, Keyboarding, Medical Terminology, and Personal Computer Security.
Melanie Pecord, chair of the Business Department at JALC, described the event as a success.
“I enjoy giving our local district high school students the opportunity to come and spend a day with us as we help them prepare for their future,” Pecord said.
Cheryl Bernhardt, Business Department faculty member and coordinator of the contest, was also pleased with the results.
“It was a delightful day and a privilege to welcome the high school students to our campus for a day of competition in business-related skills,” Bernhardt said.  “The students performed very well in this year’s competitions.”
JALC President Dr. Mike Dreith delivered a welcome to the students during the opening session and Pecord presented an overview of the Business Department to the students. Logan faculty members were involved in administering the various competitions. 
Seniors attending had the opportunity to compete in the scholarship competition for a two-year scholarship to John A. Logan College. Named winners this year were Grace Boyd from Marion High School and Caleb Volkman from Trico High School. ‘
Individual competition winners included the following:“
Accounting I: Ian Thomas of Marion-first; Taylor Morgan of Carterville-second; Kelly Adams of Carterville-third; Bailey Witthoft of Trico-fourth and Cheyenne Abbadusky of Elverado-fifth.
Accounting II: Courtney Kinnard of Carterville-first; Matthew Bigelow of Carterville-second; Colton Carter of Marion-third; Tryce Cobin of Elverado-fourth; and Kara Van Horn of Marion-fifth.
Business Communication: Jordan Gaston of Carterville-first; Anna Spoerre of Carterville-second; Brooke Hewlett of Carterville-third; Will Ziehm of Marion-fourth; and Randy Grider of Johnston City-fifth.
Business Math: Colson Myers of Johnston City-first; Ananth Panchamuki of Carbondale-second; Jacob Stone of Carterville-third; Jake Griffin of Marion-fourth; and Blake Hicks of Carterville-fifth.
Computer Spreadsheet Design: Nick Bell of Marion-first; Jemima Elsherbini of Marion-second; Aishwarya Rajamahanty of Carbondale-third; Kaylee Baker of Crab Orchard-fourth; and Baily Parker of Marion-fifth.
General Business: Jacob Chapman of Trico-first; Nicholas Langheld of Crab Orchard-second; Danish Majid of Carbondale-third; Taylor Glidewell of Carterville-fourth; and Kayla Stuthers of Carterville-fifth.
Keyboarding: Bethany Throgmorton of Crab Orchard-first; EJ Thompson of Johnston City-second; Stephanie Scholz of Crab Orchard-third; Jackson Galbraith of Johnston City-fourth; and Miranda Meyer of Carterville-fifth.
Medical Terminology: Lexi Kinsey of Marion-first; Taryn Pender of Marion-second; Ben Westrich of Crab Orchard-third; Lexi Cook of Johnston City-fourth and Kourtney Bunselmeyer of Trico-fifth.
Personal Computer Security: Bryson Hunsaker of Carterville-first; Austin Musgrave of Johnston City-second; Kemari Cossia of Carbondale-third; Trent Johnson of Johnston City-fourth; and Jordan Leaman of Johnston City-fifth.