March 9, 2015

Logan Media Services

CARTERVILLE – John A. Logan College’s sharpshooting guard Martavian Payne has been selected Region 24 and Great Rivers Athletic Conference Player of the Year for the 2014-15 basketball season.

The 6-foot-2 sophomore from St. Louis is averaging 16 points per game and converting 45 percent of his shots from the field, including 39 percent from long range.

Russell Woods, a 6-foot-8 sophomore center from Chicago, was also named First Team All-Region and All-GRAC. He is averaging 14 points and seven rebounds per game.

Joining them on the All-Region 24 Team are: Justin Leon (Shawnee), David Franklin (Lake Land), Charles Cooper (Kaskaskia), Burak Eslik (Lewis & Clark), Darryl Baker and Aaron Siler (Lincoln Trail), Quan Poindexter and De’Antae McMurray (Southwestern Illinois), Demetrius Levarity and Montrelle Little (Southeastern Illinois), and Sam Thompson (Wabash Valley).

Joining Payne and Woods on the All-GRAC First team are: Franklin, Cooper, Baker and Levarity. Second Team selections include: Siler, Little, Thompson, McMurray and Justin King (Kaskaskia).

Named Co-Freshmen of the Year were Levarity of Southeastern and Denzel Smith of Wabash Valley. Tyler Brough of Olney Central won the Sportsmanship Award and JALC head coach Kyle Smithpeters was selected GRAC Coach of the Year.