March 26, 2015

Logan Media Services

CARTERVILLE – A total of 28 awards were presented to area high school students participating in the annual John A. Logan College Writing Competition earlier this week.

Following is a breakdown on the various categories of competition along with the winners:

Personal Essays

Anna Frerichs of Marion placed first with her piece, “That Devil Box.” Harrison Thomas of Carterville was second. Elizabeth Schultz of Carbondale was third. Erin Carr of Marion and Shaynee Hammonds of Marion were awarded Judge’s Preference.                                                                             

Research Essays

Beth Sanders of Carbondale placed first with her piece, “Pack Pencils Not Heat.” Hammonds was second. Bryn Sharp of Carbondale was third. Abby Wolf of Marion and Raynah Unes of Marion were awarded Judge’s Preference.              

Song Lyrics

Tajai Taylor of Carbondale placed first with his piece, “Get Off the Floor.” Kaylee Gaumnitz of Herrin was second. Jade Martin of Herrin was third. Kathryn Jackson of Carbondale and Amber Miller of Marion were awarded Judge’s Preference.                                                                   


Rachel Vargas of Carbondale placed first with her piece, “Galaxy Rangers.” Finishing second was Jessie Malone of Johnston City. Getting third was Eli Claunch of Johnston City.                                                                        


Josie Brown of Carbondale placed first with her piece, “Obligatory Space Poem.” Capturing second was Alexsandra Taylor of Carbondale. Max Rowe-Sutton of Carbondale was third. J.R. Lewis of Marion and Ryder Hales of Carbondale were awarded Judge’s Preference.                                                          


Kit Perkins of Carbondale finished first with her piece, “Dystopian Story.” Earning a second was Kate Forer of Carbondale. Third went to Shruti Kumar of Carbondale. Rowe-Sutton and Miller each received Judge’s Preference.