May 9, 2019

The best and the brightest among John A. Logan College students were recognized at the College’s Annual Honors Night on May 7.

College President Dr. Ron House welcomed students, faculty and friends and family to the event that recognizes outstanding academic achievement and student involvement.

“Tonight is about your hard work and your dedication,” said House. “To both the students and the faculty thank you for efforts to go above and beyond.  It is that type of dedication that makes nights like tonight so special.”

Instructional awards presented included: Southern Illinois Dental Society Scholarship, Chelsea McTeague; Outstanding Early Childhood Education Student, Michele Howell; Outstanding Accounting Student, Brandon Lynn; Outstanding Business Student, Roy “Garrett” Worthen; Outstanding Office Technology Student, Kristen Banker; Outstanding Small Business Management Student, Karlee Webb; Computer Forensics Student of the Year, Roger Jeter; Cyber Security Student of the Year, Tyler Oakley; Outstanding Mathematics Student, Morgan Rich; Excellence in English, Gillian Besson; Excellence in Music, Emily Howton; Outstanding Social Science Student, Melissa Burke; Outstanding Social Science Student, Logan Elko; Excellence in Biology, Addison Mandrell; Excellence in Physics, Andrew Aldrich and Brennen Thomas.

Co-curricular awards included: Student Ambassador of the Year, Alexis Craig; Student Leader of the Year Award, Drew Stacy; Lauvenia Hill Leadership Recognition Award, Jor’Dan Crim; Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Memorial Scholarship Outstanding Student, Naudia Johnson; Teamwork Leadership Recognition Awards, Ganiu Afobabi, Jor’Dan Crim, Tyler Gravitt; Commitment and Dedication Award, Danan Greenlee, Caleb Jennings, Grant Price, Olivia Price; Dedication and Service Award, Kailyn Graves.

President’s Awards included: 2019 Outstanding Full Time Faculty Member of the Year Award, Dr. Jane Bryant; 2019 Outstanding Adjunct Faculty Member Award, Marva Watson; 2019 Paul Simon Student Essay Contest Award, Jor’Dan Crim; 2019 All USA Community College Academic Team/Illinois, Charlotte Lewis and April Robison-Kain; Board of Trustees’ Merit Scholarship, Sarah Miller; President’s Distinguished Service Award, April Robison-Kain.

Presidential Citations were presented: Andrew Aldrich, Zachary Bowling, Alexis Childers, Jennifer Hart, Alix Johnson, Zachary McTaggart, Parker Nave, Brittney Nesmith, Caitlyn Patalas, Morgan Rich, Lydia rogers, Colin Tebe, Roy “Garrett” Worthen.